About BIRU Programme


The Indonesia Domestic Biogas Programme is an initiative of Hivos and SNV. Closely working with the Indonesian Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources, the programme is implemented by Yayasan Rumah Energi (YRE) with funds made available by EnDev (Energising Development), the Norwegian Embassy and partners in promoting access to a modern and sustainable form of renewable energy for rural people.

The Indonesian Domestic Biogas Programme (IDBP) is in Indonesia better known as the BIRU programme; an acronym of Biogas Rumah, or ‘biogas for the home’. BIRU aims to promote the use of biodigesters as a local, sustainable, energy source by developing the market while working towards the development of a commercial, market-oriented sector, leading to the creation of jobs

Starting in May 2009 with financial support from the Dutch Embassy and until December 2019, 24,769 biogas reactors have been built in 13 provinces in Indonesia.


With about 43% or 92.9 million people in Indonesia engaged in agriculture (FAO, 2005), a quarter of the land area under cultivation and the number of livestock farmers’ groups apparently increased from 37,000 to 54,600 groups between 1993 and 1997, shows that Indonesia has good potential for developing a long-term sustainable national domestic biogas sector. Its agriculture sector showed a substantial increase of 56% and the number of livestock households increased from 3.74 million to 4.49 million between 1983 and 1993, an increase of 20% (World Bank, 2002).

Based on the feasibility study conducted prior to the initiation of the program, Java, West Sumatra and Bali became the BIRU Programme’s initial focus as livestock density is high and a substantial part of livestock is stabled in these regions. However, the selection of new target areas is made not only taking into account the technical market potential, but also the existence of capable actors willing to immediately be involved in some of the primary functions of the national programme: construction and after sales service as well as credit provision. The selection of new target provinces is usually preceded by the implementation of a market study.

At the moment, BIRU works in ten provinces in Indonesia: Lampung, West Java, DKI Jakarta, Banten, Central Java, DI Yogyakarta, East Java, Central Kalimantan, South Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, Bali, West Nusa Tenggara dan East Nusa Tenggara (Sumba).